Skip to content

Out of Curiosity (A quick one)

July 14, 2009

Last week I was lucky enough to catch the end of the band march for J’Ouvert 2009. It was around 8 p.m. The town was crowded with carnival votaries. The atmosphere was imbued with the spirit of ‘Vincy pride’. Music was blaring out loud from loudspeakers. They call it street party. My husband and I were chilling at one of his friends’ bar, sipping on cold beer and water while eating conch (seafood which tastes like squid). Everything was merry and jolly. Then out of nowhere a woman shrieked and all I could see was a small crowd gathering in the middle of the road. 2 women were fighting – so i thought -, because all I finally did see were 2 women pulling at each other’s hair. A couple of police officers were trying to break up the fight and managed to, finally. They pulled one of the women and a man! As the police van was stationed besides the friend’s bar I could see the altercation between the officers and the woman. I’m still trying to attune my ears to the local lingo so I had to ask hubby to interpret for me. LOL. What really happened was the woman who got pulled away by the officers lashed at the man, then the man lashed back. It started from there and ended in 2 women fighting.

The policemen were trying to sort things out and gradually the crowd lost interest and moved on. After the bustle settled down, a group of men in their fifties, who were standing behind me, started a conversation about men beating women. One of them said, loud and clear, ‘if a woman lash at me I’ll lash back’.

Now I know many men would second that and start defending their rights too. But there are those men who wouldn’t hit back if it’s a woman; it’s something to do with their upbringing and ‘mother said a gentleman doesn’t hit a woman’.

What would you do if a woman hit you? Would you hit back? What would you do?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 4:25 pm

    Bad boy Bad boy , watcha gonna do, watcha gonna do when they come for you …

    no I wont hit her unless she carries a weapon

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 14, 2009 4:58 pm

      Ha! Of course if there’s a weapon in the picture I’d lash back…be it a man, a child or another woman! LOL

  2. July 14, 2009 6:17 pm

    If I know the woman, then never. But if a woman I don’t know hits me (for reasons excluding me trying to put my hand down her top), then I am going to hit back if I am very very angry.

    But then, I am not really a violent person 🙂

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 15, 2009 10:21 am

      LOL @yashi…Why would you want to put ur hand down a woman’s top?

  3. July 15, 2009 10:33 am

    @moodyboo

    Well why wouldn’t I? 😛

    I have to admit I am a boobs man, but don’t worry I don’t go around putting my hand down random women’s top (only big breasted ones:P)… I can understand that that kind of behaviour can lead to severe repercussions, especially if it concerns women with ‘small’ self-esteem and you try to go in and actually have to look for it!

    Went slightly off topic there, sorry lol It’s just one of those boring days at work…

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 15, 2009 11:38 am

      Oh my! Hell I don’t mind men’s fascination with boobs as long as they don’t stare at the ‘babies’ for hours! 🙂

      You should blog about your fetish…lol

      • July 15, 2009 11:51 am

        Eww babies and boobs can’t occur in the same sentence!! Women breastfeeding their babies freaks me out!

        Boobs aren’t exactly a fetish though, but yeah, I would have Anne Hathaway or Scarlett Johansson over Keira Knightley any day!

        Coming back to the topic, I actually know a friend who once punched a girl at one of my private tuitions when I was in college lol Apparently, the girl had been bitching about my friend with his girlfriend who subsequently left him. If that’s not love, then I don’t know what is lol

  4. moodyboo permalink*
    July 15, 2009 3:24 pm

    Yeah I hate it when people come and tell me bad things about my boo. I stopped talking to the ‘lady’. Casual greetings here and there but no more than that. Everybody has a past and I don’t wanna hear about it, especially if someone does it on purpose.

    Some women deserve to be smacked!

    As for babies, I like to refer the twins as my babies lol…But I won’t use babies and boobies in the same sentence next time. 🙂

  5. July 16, 2009 7:28 am

    doing quickies nowadays?:-”

    hitting a women? never ever ever. I never ever raised my hand on a women, i just try to intimidate using some nice flowery language and if it comes to violence, i prefer…pulling the hair, having a go at the boobies, n if women had balls, a go at their balls too….or simply running away.
    In general, i don’t think violence is a means to an end. I think i only punched one guy in my whole life and that too i regret now. Violence is for weak people, for whom the art of speech and dialogue is not developed…(or for drunk people)…

    but thinking about it, smacking some ass sounds kinkyyyy :))
    @yashi: cant wait to read about the booby fetish :-“

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 16, 2009 8:24 am

      Quickies of all sorts! LOL Sarcasm in lieu of violence…hmmm nice strategy.

      “pulling the hair, having a go at the boobies” – aren’t those of a more sexual than violent nature? 😉

  6. July 18, 2009 1:43 am

    Anyone mentioned Keira Knightley here….I think I just smell that…. anyone? : P

    As for the answer..well it depends…many thing depends pfft.

    If the woman is my gf then i give her a hard rude kiss back is she slap me…(not yet occured..and thanks god).

    If its someone i know…and elder than me… huh no i cant hit them back… am a partial gentleman 😀

    If its a woman younger or same age around as me and i know her… then I’ll run around and scream that the woman is a public danger and she is hitting everyone on the street …. 😛

    No kidding…

    If i dunno the woman and am not at fault… and she hit me…well I’ll tell wtfhu holy mother f*ck*r and hit her back… ah come on am an animal before being a civilise human.. 😕

    I need to defend myself…

    @Yashi: right na? Else we will become les hommes batu:P

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 18, 2009 9:14 am

      LMAO Kurt! You broke it down it well! I didn’t understand the reference to Keira Knightley?

      • July 18, 2009 9:40 am

        He’s referring to my mentioning of Keira Knightley somewhere above lol

        By the way, I saw Atonement yesterday, and I have to say I see Keira in a completely different light lol

        Amazing movie by the way, I didn’t think I could like a romantic movie, but it’s really quite good!

      • moodyboo permalink*
        July 18, 2009 10:19 am

        I believe Atonement the book is by Anne Rice right? Never read her book or watched the movie. Got a friend of mine who loves Anne Rice and praised the book. I’m a grasshopper and tend to steer clear of horror/black magic stuff. LOL

        I, too, heard good reviews of Keira in this movie. I’ll have to muster up some courage and watch it…

      • July 18, 2009 10:27 am

        I don’t know if there are 2 Atonement books, but the movie is adapted from Ian McEwan’s novel bearing the same name, which is very popular too.

        Keira is awesome in it, but the little girl who plays her sister in the movie steals the show. You also have heart-throb James McAvoy whom my female friends are massively crazy about. I love British movies, and I highly recommend Atonement.

      • moodyboo permalink*
        July 18, 2009 10:38 am

        My bad! Got the name mixed up! Shyte! And all this time I thought it was Anne Rice’s book. Pffttt…

        I love British movies too. Last week I was watching Calendar Girls. Helen Mirren and Julie Walters. Slow-paced but very entertaining for me. Wasn’t it James McAvoy who starred opposite Christina Ricci in Penelope? I don’t like him that much. His features are too ‘crooked’ for my taste. LOL

        I prefer Ewan McGregor. Now that’s a virile man 😉

      • July 18, 2009 10:44 am

        Calendar Girls is a classic!

        Yeah, he’s the one. He’s more famous for appearing in Last King Of Scotland though. He was in Wanted too. I thought girls liked him because of his boyish looks lol

        No comments about McGregor’s virility lol but he’s one of my favourite actors ever. I am a huge fan of Danny Boyle, and that ever since I saw Trainspotting. Ewan McGregor is out of this world in that movie. I recently saw one of Boyle’s lesser known movies, Shallow Grave. It’s got McGregor too, and it’s arguably the best and darkest murder thriller I have ever seen. Slumdog Millionaire is an amazing movie, but it pales in comparison to Danny Boyle’s other works. He should have got his Oscar a long time ago.

      • moodyboo permalink*
        July 18, 2009 10:55 am

        I need to catch up! I haven’t watched those movies…yet! Dang…

Leave a Reply

