Skip to content

My Wedding, Bollywood Songs and What The Bell?!

July 17, 2009

This might sound crazy but whenever I listen to a Hindi song I try to picture my wedding (traditional) with that particular song playing as background score!

It all started when the movie Kuch Kuch Hota Hai came out. One of my prettiest cousins was getting married and I remember prior to the 3-day ceremony we would make a list of songs which would be played for the occasion. Since then – back in the ‘90s – I’ve developed the habit of ‘visualising’ my wedding with any particular Hindi song that I happen to like at that moment. I’ve made a mental list of those tunes which for the first time ever, is going to be penned down or ‘typed down’! 🙂

Of course it’ll start with, follows in no particular order:

1. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (Title Song)
2. Dilwale Dulhanya Lejayenge (Title Song)
3. Dil To Pagal Hai (Title Song)
4. Hum Aapke Hai Kaun (All)
5. Darkaan (All)
6. Kal Ho Na Ho (Title Song)
7. Bachna Ae Haseena (Khuda Jaane)
8. Fanaa (All)
9. Yuvah (All)
10. Khabie Gushi Kabhi Gham (All)
11. Pyar To Hona Hi Tha (Title Song)
12. Soldier (Title Song)
13. Ghulam (Ey Kya Bolti Tu)
14. Hum Dil De Chuke Sanaam (All)
15. Taal (All)
16. Kaho Na Pyar Hai (All)
17. Mohabbatein (All)
18. Lagaan (All)
19. Dil Chahta Hai (All)
20. Devdas (All)
21. Munnabhai (All)
22. Veer Zara (All)
23. Main Hoon Na (All)
24. Murder (The Sexy Song)
25. Salaam Namaste (Title Song)
26. Bunty Aur Bubli (Aishwarya Song – I don’t like her though!)
27. Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna (All)
28. Rehna Hai Tere Dil Mein (ALL!!)
29. Om Shanti Om (All)
30. Jab We Met (All)
31. Jodhaa Akbar (All)
32. Dostana (Shilpa Shetty Song)
33. Rab De Bana Di Jodi (Title Song)
34. Race (Pehli Nazar Mein)
35. Fashion (Mar Jawaa)

Well I’ve missed a few but that’s all that’s coming to mind right now! I paid three times to watch Rehna Hai Tere Dil Mein, mainly because of the songs. LOL.

Anyway, I’m already married and for my wedding, my friend played RnB!:) Thank god my parents were not livid by the end of the reception.

Am i the only one to come up with such a crazy idea? Share yours if you’re a fruitcake just like moi!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 2:32 am

    lol … I think that how much you prepare for something, there are always changes at the last minute which are out of your control … 😛

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 18, 2009 9:16 am

      Yea always last-minute changes. I think it’s the nerves… 🙂 They fail you when you need ’em…

  2. July 18, 2009 8:13 am

    RHTDM has a magnificent soundtrack!! One of the few albums which are ever present on my ipod. It’s way ahead of its time.

    Very good wedding songs btw! I would love to come to your wedding! 😀

    I will do a list for my wedding too someday, because some of the crap I hear at certain weddings is unbelievable, I wouldn’t let a DJ or whoever owns the musical equipment choose the tracks!

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 18, 2009 9:20 am

      I need to download RHDTM songs again. I’ve lost them somewhere.

      I’ve already had my religious wedding and now in the near future or whenever I’ll have another one for hubby’s fam. Betcha they wouldn’t like my song list…much less understand it!! LOL

  3. moodyboo permalink*
    July 18, 2009 10:20 am

    You’re sweet! Ta much. Going to ‘grab’ it now! 🙂

  4. July 18, 2009 5:29 pm

    Hey nice list I will definitely “borrow” some of the songs from here for my um eventual wedding.
    Mind you I have some Hindi songs I would definitely like at mine too, like:
    Do Dil – Pardes
    Ek Ladki ko dekha- 1942 A love story (I have heard that at every indian wedding I have bee to)
    Mohabbat Ho Na Jaye – Kasoor
    Pehla Nasha – Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar
    Tum aaye to fizaon mein – Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani

    Damn, maybe my choices are a bit cheesy but hey I actually have all those songs on my Ipod hehe.

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 19, 2009 8:51 am

      Yea I like those too! Ek Ladki Ko Dekha reminds of after-school hours! Everyday on way home from school I would hear that song blasting on FM or AM! 🙂

      Your selection ain’t cheesy at all. For our generation those songs are our ’80s tunes’!

  5. July 19, 2009 12:18 am

    I’ve thought of using an instrumental version of a Metallica song for my wedding! Don’t think people will mind. It does not sound like a Metallica at all! 😀

    I love Tum Se Hi from Jab We Met, I could listen to this song for hours. Damn!

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 19, 2009 8:54 am

      Right now I’m locked on Khuda Jaane from Bachna Ae Haseeno! 🙂

      Make sure you specify in your wedding invitations: Applying thick eye liner and Kohl’s, and dying your hair are strongly encouraged by the bride and her groom! LOL

      Rocker chicka!

  6. Reena DKL permalink
    July 19, 2009 3:59 am

    I have this song “Ah mere humsafar’ from the film ‘Qayamt se Qayamt Tak’ which sends me to my past for it reminds me of my Mamu’s wedding and that was like 20 years something back. Actually all my cousins, my mum and aunts feel the same when they hear it and we remember that it was the precise moment the Barat was leaving for the wedding ceremony.

    Unfortunately I have no song to recall me my wedding. There is this song my husband tells me was playing whn we danced at our reception : “When a woman loves a man”.

    Very nice post by d way!

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 19, 2009 8:59 am

      Ta much!

      Ah mere humsafar reminds me of after school hours just like Ek Ladka Ko Dekha. Those were the regular soundtracks playing on the radio back then. LOL. I was still a tot when this Qayamat se Qayamat Tak came out so I don’t totally relate to it but still I appreciate the movie soundtracks.

      You need to go and watch your wedding tape/cd again girl! 🙂

  7. July 19, 2009 11:39 am

    Some lovely tracks there 🙂 You sound SO desi!

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 19, 2009 11:46 am

      I’m not a Desi at all. Just missing the Bollywood masala in the Caribbean! Hahaha

  8. July 21, 2009 4:48 pm

    Khuda Jaane! forever! ❤

    • moodyboo permalink*
      July 21, 2009 6:06 pm

      Yeppers! It totally soothes me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

